ESSENTIALS
iCloud & Local Backups
The Songs app relies on Apple’s iCloud technology to sync data and to create a backup in the cloud. Even if you do not use the the Songs app on more than one device you should always grant the Songs app access to your iCloud account to automatically create a copy of your song catalog.
Without an iCloud (or local) backup your data will be irreversibly lost when you remove the Songs app from your device.
iCloud Syncing
Cloud syncing is enabled by default and performed by Apple’s secure and reliable iCloudKit. Newly entered data is automatically synced in the background when it is safe to do so. When the device is unable to connect to Apple’s iCloud server the Songs app will keep track of any changes to upload them at a later time.
Push the app into the background on your current device before editing your song catalog on another device:
Creating a Local Backup
It is recommended to keep a separate local backup of your song catalog on at least one of your devices.
Restoring Song Catalogs
Select the appropriate backup file in the file browser to recreate your song catalog:
The Songs app will replace matching songs in your song catalog with the backup versions. Songs that you have added to your song catalog after the last backup will remain unchanged. All computer devices linked to your iCloud account will be updated automatically.
You can remove the new songs when restoring a backup by:
-
selecting 'Delete Songs And Sets (Device & iCloud)' (Under 'Backup Catalog' > 'Delete')
-
and selecting 'Restore' (under 'Backup Catalog').